Happy Hour Mid September

Morning Meeting
8 min readOct 1, 2023

It didn’t start here but it didn’t end here either.

(this is called Witchy Vibes, and was concocted at The Sapphire Hotel in Portland)

My husband has had cancer.

Ok. That makes it sound like Sad Hour doesn’t it? But we go to “bars,” whatever they are for both happy and sad, frankly. All emotions get to show up.

My writing is a pretty eclectic mix of essays and ephemera from my life ranging from the personal to the professional. I suck terribly at dividing the two and always have been-honestly, I have been an utter failure at siloing my posts because it’s my whole life and it all connects.

The common ground is that I’m endlessly curious about human beings and the systems they build, engage in, thrive in, survive in, or destroy. That includes everything from a family holiday gathering to the best workplace you’ve ever been employed at, to downright cults.

Cause really, the systems all play out along similar dynamics. Some are just healthier and more accountable than others and one of my simple beliefs is that it all depends on the health of (or the alignment of the dysfunction) of the people in the system.

Meaning, you can have the most well meaning loving people fuck that system up, or you actually could have some toxic folks run a (toxic) but high…

--

--