Essay Camp

Morning Meeting
3 min readMay 19, 2022
Empty Space

I’m in Essay Camp!

Summer Brennan, a fantastic writer for anyone who has not made the acquaintance, runs an essay camp every so often and I decided to avail myself of the process, because I find myself writing in my mind, but then I let life get in they way. If you are curious, the link below will shine a little light on exactly what Essay Camp is, why one might do it, and how it can support and improve your writing.

Indeed, one of the first reasons Summer gives to participate is my main reason for joining. Summer writes, “It can be hard to drown out the noise of daily life and commit to a writing practice. We may want to write every morning at 5am, or every evening after dinner, but too often the reality of our lives intervenes. We oversleep. We work late. We are tired, or discouraged, or uninspired. We doubt ourselves or our ideas, and before we know it, months have passed with our manuscripts or our notebooks untouched. Our writing has fallen by the wayside.”

I also find that the din of the internet is just utterly distracting. Mostly, because I write on my computer which is connected to the internet and…

--

--